Phase one, ditching the granny pants.

I wear granny pants.  I love them.  They are big, they are thin, there is no visible panty line, they cover my entire bum, tum and love handles.   They hide a multitude of sins, and I love them for it.  But now it’s time to say goodbye and replace them with smaller sexier versions that I can dance around the house in in front of my husband.  I first started wearing granny pants after my first son was born 5 years ago.  They helped me deal with my post preggie body, however still wearing them 5 years later (admittedly I have had another son in that time, but he is now 18 months old) they need to go.  I want to start feeling sexy again, I want my husband to look twice at me and I want to feel that glint of naughtiness and sexiness that I did pre-kids.  I’m not aiming for a body that I can’t achieve, I just want to look healthy and feel sexy.  So here is my wish list:

– drop 35 kilos

– learn to run 5 km’s

– fit into a pair of kneehigh boots for winter

– do something about the chronic eczema on my feet (it’s very manky and embarrassing)

Now I know dropping 35 kilos sounds extreme, but let me put it into perspective.  I am just shy of 6 foot tall and fairly big boned, I can fluctuate 5 kilos just with my period, so 35 kilos is not unachievable (truly, I have talked it over with my doctor many times).  There is nothing petite about my body shape, but when I am a healthy weight I look fantastic.  I don’t aspire to be super skinny, I just want to look healthy again.  I am a coeliac (allergic to gluten) so we do actually have a fairly clean diet, we just eat too much.  My husband is 6 foot 8, and a big frame himself, he himself eats too much and I eat the same amount of food he does, that’s a shitload of food!   Over the last 5 years I have tried every fad diet on the planet, I have drunk lemon juice and tree sap (it’s totally gross and makes you gag), no meat, only meat, no carbs, no sugar, garcinia cambogia, detox drinks.  You name it, i’ve tried it.  I have begged my doctor for a miracle pill, gastric banding, liposuction anything to help, but the sad and simple truth is it’s my portion sizes.  The fad diets temporarily work, but each year I drop weight fast fall back into old habits and steadily gain 5 kilos a year, just as my doctor predicted, and now I have 35 kilos to lose.   This is my doctors recommendation – I am not on a diet, but I need to cut everything I normally eat in half, the increase in energy will help with exercising more and I should lose my weight over a fairly (and this is the disheartening part) long period of time.  I need to re-train my body and change my habits once and for all.  I also want to start making more of an effort with my appearance, if I say so myself I am quite pretty but I should be making sure I think about what i’m wearing before leaving the house each day, wearing make-up and spending more time on my hair.  I can look fab and I want to, every single day!

So that’s Project Lou.  I hope you will support me on this journey to finding my long lost sexy.

First up tomorrow, it’s undie shopping for sexy big girl panties so I can ditch my granny pants, wish me luck!

Lou.x

Leave a Reply

